Nobody's Heart

Lis Wessberg Trombone
Steen Rasmussen | Fender Rhodes, Moog, Synths and Piano
Lennart Ginman | Bass and Electronics
Jeppe Gram | Drums

1. The Strip
2. The Ancient Road
3. In Your Absence
4. Chimes 
5. Midnights 
6. Sister M
7. The Diver
8. Roots
9. Yellow Map

Yellow Map

released 1st October, 2021

→ Order From Bandcamp Here

Danish trombonist Lis Wessberg has enjoyed a 30-year career as a side(wo)man with a whole host of jazz and pop stars, touring internationally and featuring on more than 40 albums.

Now, three decades after graduating from the Rhythmic Music Conservatory in Copenhagen, she prepares to release her debut album Yellow Map (1st Oct, April Records).

The nine original compositions showcase the mellifluous melding of the acoustic trombone with more electronic and groove-based elements – as well as a special guest appearance of long-time collaborator drummer/percussionist Marilyn Mazur.

The tunes were written specifically for this lineup – pianist Steen Rasmussen, bassist Lennart Ginman and drummer Jeppe Gram – bringing a real sense of familiarity to the proceedings and allowing that unpredictable air of mystery and risk-taking that defines many great albums.

Wessberg herself cites ‘Cool Jazz’ icons such as Lee Konitz, Ben Webster, Chet Baker as major influences. It’s perhaps apparent in her personal approach, but the overall effect is much more cinematic: layers of sounds and instruments provide light and darkness, sincerity and excitement, joy and reflection.

Above all, though, Wessberg stays true to her concept that a good melody and a full, rich sound are the two most important elements of both performing and composing.

She leads the way with a vocal trombone tone filled with warmth and emotion.

Artist Links